Yes, I’ve Been Away

It’s been a long time, I know. Maybe entirely too long but, you know, life…..

Over the last several months I’ve been going through quite a bit of change in my life both on the outside and the inside. It has caused me to look at writing and blogging differently. It has left me confused with what direction to go in, do I keep up where I’m at or do I take a different route? I still don’t know but I feel like I should at least share with you what I’ve been up to and what you can expect in the future.

In January I took on a new volunteer job (in addition to the others) and it was a lot more work than I had expected. Also, my running club chapter doubled in size and that also created more work. As it turns out training for a marathon is quite time consuming, too. Time was just very limited and somewhere in all that I had to make room for my family. My children give me quite a hard time when I’m on the computer too much and with my days filled with meetings, computer work and running my nights had to be given to them. So, with time an issue I gave up some stuff and this little blog was one.

Truth is, I’ve missed writing and sharing my life. I know it has helped people, maybe not a lot but some and that is better than none. But, writing (blogging specifically) doesn’t come without it’s critics. Being a sensitive person, I find them hard to manage emotionally. The longer I was away the harder it has become to put myself  back out there and be vulnerable to said critics.

About a month ago I had decided to archive this blog at the end of the year. Now that I have had time away I’ve had time to reflect on that decision. It has given me another perspective: life without writing and I don’t know if I want to give that part of my life up.

So, will I archive this blog and move on? I honestly don’t know yet. I think I have some internal demons to battle to find the answer.

There you have it.

Oh and the marathon?

I completed it in 5:33:33.10497155_10204671103406054_2846241127892904240_oIt was an incredible experience and I’m so happy I did it and stuck with my goal even my darkest moments of self doubt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yes, I’ve Been Away

  1. Welcome back. 🙂 And CONGRATS on completing the marathon! Well done!

  2. Vmdiehl says:

    Sometimes you get blisters on your heart and in your head and you need to take a break, rest, let them heal, and figure out how to prevent them the next time…or not. Accept that blisters happen. Just like running, you love to write. Do what you love!

Leave a Reply

