5 Ways To Achieve Your Goals

My alarm sang it’s song at 5:15 am and I lay thinking, “Why am I doing this again?” and the answer seemed so simple, because I set a goal for myself and early mornings are apart of making that goal come true.  But, as the morning wore on I began to question my marathon goal again. Did I have the time? Will my knee stay healthy? Am I crazy? The answers were yes, l hope so and NO!

Later in that afternoon I called my mom to chat and we discussed the upcoming race and our travel plans and I expressed my feelings of “why” to her and she asked me why WAS I doing it.  I sighed and said because I need a goal.  This 26.2 mile goal isn’t about anyone but me and my willingness to not give up on myself.

So, with 2014 upon us and the chatter of new goals and resolutions I thought about how can we make these things come true.  Military life is so hard at times and has the ability to throw many curve balls at the worse times.  But, I do believe that no matter what life has in store for us we can stop the excuses and make goals happen.

And of course I have a few tips to help you do just that!

1.  Support system!  This is a must!!! Surround yourself with people who will go above and beyond to help you reach your goal.  Make them the person who gives you the honest truth and says, “No excuses! I’m here to help you do this! Now go, do great things and be worry free.”

2.  Utilize your resources.  If it is going to back to school, hook up with Military Spouse Education Initiative.  If it is health, join a fitness group with exercise you enjoy, like my Stroller Warriors®.  If it is to blog more (all bloggers say this from time to time) join Military Spouse Blogger Network (MSB Media).

3.  Stop making excuses.  You know the saying, “excuses are like……” (I won’t finish it because you all know how it ends).  Excuses give us a way out and are the reason we fail at achieving our goals.  I prefer to say, “where there is a will there is a way.”  If that means a run at 5:15 because you have a busy day than so be it!

4.  Make yourself the reason.  People tend to give a lot of themselves to others. Whether it is your kids or spouse or job, they get all of you. Don’t let your goal be for them.  Maybe they are your motivation but not your reason. Your reason needs to be because you deserve it! You deserve to be a healthy weight! You deserve to finish your degree.  You deserve that accomplishment because you are worth more than the titles you carry.

5.  Make a schedule for yourself and stick to it.  This will vary depending on what you have set forth for yourself.  It could mean a daily schedule or a monthly one or maybe for the whole year. Just make it, stick to it and don’t make excuses!

Now you have some ways to help you to your goal.  Am I using them? You bet! To travel to run a marathon with another deployment possible without a great support network wouldn’t be possible.  My fellow runners will help me get those long runs in. I promised to not make excuses (thus the early mornings). The reason is spot on and my schedule in place.  2014 is the year of me and what I can achieve for myself!

So,what goal will you achieve in 2014?

This entry was posted in Milspouse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

